Sicily is for Lovers.

I never thought that I would be living in Sicily.  But here I am.  Serving in the US Army, living on a Navy base, in beautiful Sicily.

I must say that I didn’t think it would be possible.  After receiving my first duty station of Fort Monmouth New Jersey, I was sure that my Army career was going to be full of disappointing assignments in obscure locations.  That could not have been further from the truth.  Starting with Fort Monmouth.  It was an obscure location to be sure, but hardly disappointing.  I don’t think I could have had a better group of leaders for my first duty station.  Every one of them helped me in some way.  They know what those ways are and if they don’t, well…

Then I got orders for NAS Sigonella Sicily.  just the idea seemed so surreal I was unsure of it even happening.  Then the time slowly ticked by and came the day for moving, and flying out.  Getting here still didn’t seem real.  After almost 3 weeks if is finally sinking in that I am here.  I have a lot of people to thank for helping to get me here.  And also a great family for being willing to follow me 5000 miles across the globe.

I have not been very good about writing here but would like to be a bit more prolific (if that’s the right word).  And a new friend suggested I make a photo blog, since I like taking pictures.  that seemed like a capitol idea to me so.

Mt Etna is visible from the upstairs window.  Which happens to belong to my son.  He was pretty Excited about this.

The Architecture here is amazing.  I know there are some awesome building in the USA, but most of these buildings are older than the USA itself.

The Fish Market was awesome.  When we turned the corner to go down into the market that smell wafted up and reminded me of the fish and shrimp houses back home in Rockport and Fulton Texas.  I grew up with that and it takes me back.

And yes, Sicily is for Lovers. These two crazy love birds were seen in Catania this past week.  The Wine here is amazing.  The difference between fresh wine and the swill that is served at restaurants in the states is like night and day.  And the cost/value there is no comparison.  I am having a glass of some of the best red wine I have ever had for just about $4.50 a bottle.  Of course here its in Euro.  3 Euro.

We had great time visiting the market and picking out a few things.  like…

Olives, Mozzarella, Pecorino Cheese, Carrots, onions, Tomatos, bananas, Lemons, Peaches, White Plums, Cherries, and Svelgi (a native Italian fruit)

The produce in the market is all organic, it is mostly straight from the field, and the tastes are amazing.  I don’t think I have ever tasted a sweeter peach.  It is going to be an adventure living here, we knew that coming in.  Stay tuned for more adventures to come from me and the family as we travel Europe and see what this part of the world has to offer.

till next time, Ciao.

  1. #1 by Mandy on August 19, 2011 - 8:45 pm

    You really “get” how young our country is when you start seeing the rest of the world! Can’t wait to follow your journey! We miss you, though!

Leave a comment